Fellows and Interns

Emily Liljestrand

Sea Grant-National Marine Fisheries Service Fellowship, 2019-2022
liljest3@msu.edu

Katie Pritchard

Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, 2019-2020
kpritc@umich.edu

Jillian Mayer

Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, 2019-2020
jbmayer@umich.edu

Kathryn Frens

Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, 2019-2020
kathryn.frens@gmail.com

Erin Burkett

Michigan Sea Grant Graduate Research Fellowship, 2018-2020
emburket@mtu.edu
Project overview (PDF)
Final report (PDF)

Nicole Olson

Michigan Sea Grant Graduate Research Fellowship, 2018-2020
niolson@umich.edu
Project overview

Interns

Timothy Boyd

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Lake Superior State University
tboyd1@lssu.edu

Project: Round goby in lake trout diet

Julianna Grenn

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Lake Superior State University
Jgrenn@lssu.edu

Project: Maintenance and updates at the Grayling Fish Hatchery

Samuel Johnston

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Lake Superior State University
sjohnston5@lssu.edu

Project: Temporo-spatial dynamics of zooplankton and larval lake whitefish in invasive dominated Lakes Michigan and Huron

Dakota VanFleet

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Lake Superior State University
Dakota.Ann.Vanfleet@gmail.com

Project: Great Lakes watershed stewardship: Student awareness to advocacy and action

Molly Wozniak

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Lake Superior State University
mwozniak1@lssu.edu

Project: Didymosphenia geminata (rock snot) removal and effects on benthic macroinverts

Grace Maves

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Wayne State University
Gracemaves@icloud.com

Project: Service value of tree planting in Metro-Detroit

Ana Singh

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Calvin University
ams246@students.calvin.edu

Project: Plant transpiration and survival in urban rain gardens

David Martinez-Vasquez

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Calvin University
dev24@students.calvin.edu

Project: Tree planting to discourage reed canary grass and watershed education with urban Grand Rapids high school students

Savanna Johnson

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
University of Michigan
savrenea@umich.edu

Project: Assessment of larval fish shrinkage with preservation

Kiera Matiska

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
University of Michigan
kmatiska@umich.edu

Project: Effects of sea lamprey on lake trout

Lauren Payne

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
University of Michigan
paynela@umich.edu

Project: Assessment of fish egg mortality

Abigail Meyer

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
University of Michigan
avmey@umich.edu

Project: Environmental modelling of native wetland plants to build invasion resistance

Taylor Rathbun

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Central Michigan University
Rathb1tl@cmich.edu

Project: Angler creel study and field survey in Grand Traverse Bay

Carter Rogers

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Spring Arbor University
rogerscarter98@yahoo.com

Project: Distribution study of New Zealand mud snail in Boardman River

Aidan Navarre

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Central Michigan University
navar1as@cmich.edu

Project: Species distribution modelling of herpetofauna

Victoria Vo

MISG Environmental Internship Program, 2020
Eastern Michigan University
vvo@emich.edu

Project: Gap analysis of herpetofauna populations

Past fellows and interns

MISG Undergraduate Internship

Yeri Kim, 2019
Calvin University (formerly Calvin College)
yk54@students.calvin.edu
See Yeri’s research poster (PDF)

Ben Vasquez, 2019
Northern Michigan University
bevasque@nmu.edu
See Ben’s research poster (PDF)

Tyler Penrod, 2019
Northern Michigan University
tpenrod@nmu.edu
See Tyler’s research poster (PDF)

Abigail Meyer, 2019
University of Michigan
avmey@umich.edu
See Abigail’s research poster (PDF)

MISG Graduate Student Research Fellowship

Peter Alsip, 2018 – 2020
peterals@umich.edu

Corey Krabbenhoft, 2018 – 2020
ckrab@wayne.edu

Angela Yu, 2016 – 2018
awyu@mtu.edu

Erin McCann, 2016 – 2018
mccan1e@cmich.edu

Great Lakes Commission — Sea Grant Fellowship

Margo Davis, 2017 – 2018
margodavis9@gmail.com

Michael Polich, 2016 – 2017
mpolich@glc.org

Sam Molnar, 2015 – 2016
sammolnar@gmail.com

Elizabeth Lillard, 2013 – 2014
elizabeth.lillard@gmail.com

Amanda Sweetman, 2012 – 2013
acsweetman@gmail.com

Cassie Bradley, 2011 – 2012
cassiebradley@gmail.com

Julie Hinderer, 2010 – 2011
midajl@gmail.com

Anjali Patel, 2009 – 2010
abweuno@gmail.com

International Joint Commission — Sea Grant Fellowship

Michael Mezzacapo, 2017 – 2018
mezzacapom@windsor.ijc.org

Allison Voglesong, 2016 – 2017
allisonvoglesong@gmail.com

Ankita Mandelia, 2015 – 2016
ajmandelia@gmail.com

NOAA Coastal Management Fellowship

Liz Durfee, 2011 – 2013
Michigan Coastal Zone Management Program
elizabeth.durfee@gmail.com

Zach Hecht-Leavitt, 2011 – 2013
New York Coastal Management Program
zhechtle@gmail.com

Kirsten Howard, 2013 – 2015
New Hampshire Coastal Program
kirstenbhoward@gmail.com

Maggie Wenger, 2012 – 2014
San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission
magpie.wenger@gmail.com

Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship

Lisa Peterson, 2018 – 2019
Electronic Technologies Coordinator
National Marine Fisheries Service Office of Science and Technology
peter710@msu.edu

Janet Hsiao, 2018 – 2019
Tropical Pacific Observing System 2020
NOAA Climate Program Office
jnt.hsiao@gmail.com

Ellen Spooner, 2016 – 2017
Ocean Science Educator/Communications Specialist
NOAA Fisheries Communications Office
ellspoon@umich.edu

Trevor Meckley, 2016 – 2017
Hypoxia Coordination and Transition Fellow
NOAA Ocean Service National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
tdmeckley@gmail.com

Patrick Donovan, 2016 – 2017
Legislative Fellow
U.S. Senator Gary C. Peters – Michigan
pmdon@umich.edu

Clarence Fullard, 2014 – 2015
Aquatic Invasive Species Specialist
Office of Management and Budget, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Fulla1cd@cmich.edu

Dave Gershman, 2013 – 2014
Office of Marine Conservation, U.S. Department of State
gershman@umich.edu

Colin Hume, 2011 – 2012
Division of Fisheries and Aquatic Resource Conservation, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
colhume@gmail.com

Rachel Jacobson, 2015 – 2016
Office of Program Planning and Integration, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
rachel.ilyse.jacobson@gmail.com

Ayman Mabrouk, 2015 – 2016
National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
mabrouka@anr.msu.edu

Eric MacMillan, 2012 – 2013
Office of Habitat Conservation, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
emacmill@gmail.com

Kyle Molton, 2012 – 2013
Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (ME)
kyle.molton@gmail.com

Joe Nohner, 2009 – 2010
Office of Science and Technology, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
jnohner@gmail.com

Linda Novitski, 2015 – 2016
Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
lindanovitski@gmail.com

Maggie Rabb, 2009 – 2010
Marine Conservation International Affairs Office, U.S. Department of State
maggie.rabb@gmail.com

Ali Stevens, 2015 – 2016
Climate Program Office, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
aliwstev@umich.edu

Chiara Zuccarino-Crowe, 2014 – 2015
Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
czuccarino@hotmail.com