Advisory Committee

The Michigan Sea Grant Advisory Committee provides advice, guidance, and feedback on existing and future programs. The committee members, which include key stakeholders and university administrators, serve as program advocates. The committee members identify opportunities for collaboration and support, particularly with state and federal agencies and legislators, both within and outside of their organizations. Members serve one- to three-year terms that are renewable.

Current Advisory Committee Members

  • Owen Ballow, Indian Brook Trout Farm, President
  • Chelsea Berg, National Sea Grant, Office Program Officer
  • Doug Buhler, Michigan State University, Director of AgBioResearch
  • Randy Claramunt, MDNR – Fisheries, Lake Huron Basin Coordinator
  • Kevin Donner, Fisheries Program, Natural Resources Department Great Lakes Fisheries, Program Manager
  • Patrick Doran, The Nature Conservancy, Director of Conservation
  • Dr. Quentin Tyler, Michigan State University Extension, Director of MSU Extension
  • Ed Eisch, Michigan Department of Natural Resources – ­Fisheries Fish Production, Program Manager
  • Emily Finnell, MDNR-EGLE, Office of Great Lakes, Great Lakes Senior Advisor and Strategist
  • Douglas Gage, Michigan State University, Interim Vice President, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Tom Gorenflo, Chippewa Ottawa Resource Authority, Director
  • Denny Grinold, Fish ‘N’ Grin Charters and Mich. Charter Boat Assn., Owner, Director of Government Relations
  • Dave Ivan, Michigan State University Extension, Program Leader
  • Robert Lambe, Great Lakes Fishery Commission, Executive Secretary
  • Debbie Lee, NOAA GLERL, Director
  • Carl Lindquist, Superior Watershed Partnership and Land Trust, Executive Director
  • Tammy Newcomb, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, Senior Water Policy Advisor
  • Kelly Karll, SEMCOG, Manager, Environment & Infrastructure Program
  • Brad Orr, Co-chair, University of Michigan, Associate Vice President for Research
  • Jonathan Overpeck, School for Environment & Sustainability, Dean
  • Amber Mae Petersen, Michigan Fish Producers Association, President
  • Mike Reed, Detroit Zoological Society, Curator of Education
  • Bruno Takahashi, MSU-Knight Center for Environmental Journalism, Associate Professor and Research Director
  • Dan Vogler, Harrietta Hills Trout Farm, Owner
  • Chris Kolb, University of Michigan, Vice President for Government Relations